Self Betterment

comment 1
Fitness / Personal

A huge goal of mine this year has been self betterment. Emotionally, mentally and physically. Basically, I want to better nurture the quality relationships in my life, grow new ones and take better care of myself in all ways.

The most challenging of the three is definitely health. My biggest hurdle has always been making better choices nutritionally and maintaining an exercise routine. Over the past few years I’ve slowly crept up in weight and hit my personal tipping point this year. My doctor and I discussed some of the changes that happened in my life that may have triggered the slow gain and it was really eye-opening. We used to visit the theme parks regularly when we lived in Florida and would spend the entire day there walking, often close to 10 miles! On top of that, I went to cycling classes regularly which burn a ton of calories. Going from that to an occasional thirty minutes on an elliptical just wasn’t cutting it. We were planning a wedding, moving to a new city, buying a new house, starting new jobs, making new friends… It felt so overwhelming and the last thing I wanted to do was go to the gym. I never weighed myself so I didn’t notice any changes until it started to show in photos. Bummer.

I don’t know about you, but I like my sleep. I’ve never been much of a morning person and the mere thought of waking up before the sun to go workout was never an option for me. But, evening gym runs just weren’t working. If I went after work, I wouldn’t wind up cooking because then my entire night was spent and I just wanted to relax. If I went after cooking dinner, I was working out at 9pm after waiting for my stomach to settle down enough to work up a sweat. First world problems, I know, and I’m sorry for even complaining about it. And that’s just it. I was being sorry. It was sorry that I couldn’t get myself out of bed early enough to go to the gym for one hour before work.

So finally, I mustered up the will power to sign up for some 6am group training sessions. A plan with accountability? Check! That was back in February. Now that it’s October, I’m so proud to say that I’ve gone to the gym twice a week at 6am every day that entire span of time (minus a vacation here or there). Even more, despite not changing my diet (hey, it’s baby steps for me or I’ll never stick with it), I’ve lost at least three inches from my waist in addition to feeling (and looking) much stronger. I also made the decision to start going three days a week this month for the next six. I’m hoping now with my new routine, I’ll feel more comfortable adding in small changes to my diet and ultimately continuing on my journey to better health and well-being.


 

Today’s workout:*

Two sets:
20 seconds working / 10 seconds resting
8 times through (each exercise 4 times):

1A: Kettlebell Goblet Squat
1B: Kettlebell Swings

2A: Mountain Climbers
2B: Standing Dumbbell Press

3A: Inverted TRX Rows
3B: Bear Crawls

*I’m not a trainer, I’m just documenting what I’m doing on my journey to a better self. Workout at your own risk.

1 Comment

  1. LoveandFlats says

    Yay for Florida living. We go to Universal all the time. I never feel bad about what I eat because I know there’s no way it’s sticking with me on those vacations.

Leave a Reply

