Of a Lass That is Gone

Leave a comment
Books / Personal / Television
Outlander on Starz

So it’s been a little while since I’ve been able to sit down and write. There have just been three jillion other things occupying my mind as of late. I do have a handful of half-finished posts though, so I guess that’s something! Right?

Anyway, I’m just popping on to rave a little bit about my favorite book series turned television show, Outlander. I’ve never been much of a motivated reader… probably the same reason I’m not much of a motivated writer at the moment. But, something changed in me. I began reading this series after starting to work for my current boss who had/has just about the entire female population of our office totally into it. I thought maybe it’d help me fit in more quickly and have something else to talk about with my new team so I bought the first book and dove in head first.

If we’re being honest here, I didn’t really appreciate the beginning of the book. I found it slow and somewhat uninteresting. But, I kept going under the encouragement of everyone else and eventually fell in love. The story. The character development and complexity. All of it. If I were to try to describe the book, I’d say it’s a historical fiction, time-traveling romantic action/adventure. A little something for everyone and maybe that’s why so many people at my office love it.

So if you’re thinking “hmm, that doesn’t sound half bad,” Starz has made a series of it with Ron Moore, of Battlestar Galactica fame, as executive producer and a second season season has already confirmed. And so far it’s absolutely wonderful! The mid-season finale is actually airing this weekend, so my post hyping it up is a little late to the game, but you’ll have plenty of time to watch the first eight episodes and catch up before the second half early 2015! Do it.

Leave a Reply

